- A current MIL7-specific pass rate was not verified in ASE's public sources, so any precise figure you see online deserves skepticism.
- The exam has 50 questions: 40 scored plus 10 unscored research questions, in 60 minutes.
- A/C System and Component Diagnosis, Service, and Repair carries 40% of the exam, or 16 scored questions.
- Passing the test alone does not certify you; ASE must also approve two years of qualifying experience.
What the Public Record Actually Says About the MIL7 Pass Rate
Searching for a MIL7 pass rate usually produces confident-sounding percentages from forums, prep vendors, and recycled blog posts. Before you plan your preparation around any of them, it helps to know what the issuer itself has published. The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) administers the Military Tactical Wheeled Vehicle Certification program, and the MIL7 test covers Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning (HVAC). In the public issuer sources reviewed for this article, ASE does not publish a current MIL7-specific pass rate, and a current MIL7-specific passing-score threshold was likewise not verified.
That is not a gap this article can fill with a guess. Inventing a percentage would mislead you, and it would be especially risky because several unrelated credentials share the "MIL7" label. Statistics attached to those other credentials have nothing to do with ASE's military HVAC test. If you want the full discussion of what we do and do not know about cut scores, see our companion piece on the MIL7 passing score.
The Numbers We Can Verify
While the pass rate is unpublished, the exam's structure is well documented. Everything below comes from ASE's official study guide and test pages, and it is far more useful for planning than a rumor about how many people pass.
| Exam Feature | MIL7 Detail |
|---|---|
| Administering body | National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) |
| Questions administered | 50 total (40 scored + 10 unscored research questions) |
| Time allowed | 60 minutes, written exam |
| Format | Proctored, computer-based, multiple choice, one correct answer |
| Initial testing | In person |
| Initial fee | USD 94 per test plus USD 34 registration per order |
| Certification validity | Five years |
| Renewal route | MIL7R recertification test |
| Public pass rate | Not verified in cited issuer sources |
Notice what this table implies. With 60 minutes for 50 questions, you have roughly a minute and a bit per item, which rewards candidates who recognize diagnostic patterns quickly rather than those who reason from scratch every time. For more on how that pacing feels, read How Hard Is the MIL7 Exam?
Why a Pass Rate Is Hard to Pin Down for a Niche Military Test
Even if ASE published one, a single headline percentage would say little about your odds. Several features of this particular credential make the population of test-takers unusual.
A small, specialized candidate pool
The Military Tactical Wheeled Vehicle program serves technicians who work on tactical wheeled vehicles, and MIL7 targets the HVAC specialty. That is a narrower audience than mainstream automotive tests, so any aggregate rate would blend very different groups: seasoned military mechanics, recent training graduates, and technicians crossing over from civilian shops.
Candidates can test before they qualify
ASE allows candidates to sit the test before meeting the experience requirement. Some people attempt it early as a benchmark, which would pull any raw pass rate in a different direction than a population of fully experienced technicians would.
Unscored questions muddy the picture
Ten of your 50 questions do not count toward your result; ASE uses them for research. You will not know which ones they are, so you must prepare for the entire blueprint rather than gambling on which items to skip.
Key Takeaway
Stop searching for a pass-rate number and start measuring your own readiness against the four official domains. Your performance on domain-by-domain practice is a far better predictor than any population average.
How the Exam Is Built: Four Content Areas, 40 Scored Questions
ASE's study guide presents the MIL7 specification table on page 39 and the task list on pages 39 through 42. The four top-level content areas are official exam objectives, and their published weights sit alongside approximate scored-question counts.
| Domain | Weight | Scored Questions (where stated) |
|---|---|---|
| HVAC Systems Diagnosis, Service, and Repair | 15% | Not separately stated here |
| A/C System and Component Diagnosis, Service, and Repair | 40% | 16 |
| Heating and Engine Cooling Systems Diagnosis, Service, and Repair | 20% | Not separately stated here |
| Operating Systems and Related Controls Diagnosis and Repair | 25% | 10 |
The weights add up to 100%, and the largest two domains alone account for 65% of the exam. If you want a deeper walk through each area, our complete guide to all four MIL7 content areas covers the task lists in detail.
Where Candidates Win or Lose Points
Because no pass rate exists to tell you which areas trip people up, use the blueprint itself. Weight tells you where the points are; your own background tells you where you are exposed.
Domain 2: A/C System and Component Diagnosis, Service, and Repair (40%)
This is the heart of the exam, worth 16 scored questions. Expect diagnostic scenarios rather than vocabulary recall.
- Reading symptoms to isolate refrigerant-circuit faults
- Component-level diagnosis of the compressor, condenser, evaporator, and metering devices
- Service and repair procedures and the sequence in which they are performed
- Interpreting pressure and temperature behavior to confirm a diagnosis
Domain 4: Operating Systems and Related Controls Diagnosis and Repair (25%)
Worth 10 scored questions, this domain rewards candidates who understand how controls command the system, not just how the mechanical parts work.
- Control and operating-system behavior and fault tracing
- Electrical and control-circuit diagnosis tied to HVAC function
- Distinguishing a failed control from a failed component it governs
Domain 3: Heating and Engine Cooling Systems Diagnosis, Service, and Repair (20%)
Heating performance depends on the engine cooling system, so this area links two systems candidates often study separately.
- Heater-core and coolant-flow concepts that affect cabin heat
- Cooling-system faults that show up as heating complaints
- Service and repair tasks tied to heating and engine cooling
Domain 1: HVAC Systems Diagnosis, Service, and Repair (15%)
The smallest domain, but it covers system-level thinking that supports every other area.
- Whole-system diagnosis and verification of repairs
- Recognizing how subsystems interact when a complaint spans more than one
One practical observation: the 40% A/C domain and the 25% controls domain together determine most of your outcome. A candidate strong in mechanical refrigerant work but weak on controls logic can still lose a meaningful share of the exam. Our MIL7 study guide shows how to balance those two.
Passing the Test Is Only Half the Credential
Many articles about pass rates quietly skip a point that matters: passing the exam does not by itself make you MIL7 certified. ASE requires both a passing test result and ASE-approved work experience. The requirement is two years of full-time repair-technician experience, or an accepted part-time equivalent or formal-training substitution, and ASE reviews your experience record through its work experience process.
Candidates may test before meeting the experience requirement, but certification itself requires ASE approval of that record. In practice, this means the meaningful number is not "what percent pass the test" but "what percent complete every step." Details on eligibility live in our MIL7 requirements guide.
Registration, Fees, and Booking Mechanics
The route to the test room is more specific than for general ASE exams, and getting it wrong can delay your attempt. According to ASE's current Military Program page, you register and pay in myASE, then book a location-specific appointment through the NTC. The page explicitly says not to use myASE appointment scheduling and not to call Prometric for this route, which differs from general scheduling guidance. Testing happens at Prometric and ASE satellite test centers.
What it costs
- Test fee: USD 94 per test.
- Registration: USD 34 per order, before applicable tax.
- Sitting fees: None at the listed U.S. UMGC NTC sites; USD 35 per appointment at the described OCONUS UMGC NTCs, paid to the NTC.
One caveat: ASE's current fee table labels the row containing the MIL2 through MIL8 price as "Military Fundamentals," which does not match the exam names. The fee here is taken from the explicit exam-code range. Confirm the figure at checkout. For the full picture including renewals, see the MIL7 certification cost breakdown, and for timing, the MIL7 exam dates and scheduling guide.
A Domain-Weighted Study Sequence
Because the blueprint is the only reliable guide to difficulty, sequence your preparation by weight. This is a sample progression, not a guarantee, and you should lengthen it if your hands-on HVAC time is limited.
A/C System and Component Diagnosis (40%)
- Work through component-level diagnosis and service procedures first, since 16 scored questions live here
- Practice symptom-to-cause reasoning rather than memorizing definitions
Operating Systems and Related Controls (25%)
- Focus on control logic and distinguishing control faults from component faults
Heating and Engine Cooling (20%) plus HVAC Systems (15%)
- Connect coolant-flow concepts to heating complaints
- Finish with whole-system diagnosis questions and timed mixed practice
Finish with timed sets of 50 questions in 60 minutes so the pacing feels familiar, and try the free MIL7 practice tests to see where your domain-level gaps are. A condensed review sheet such as our MIL7 cheat sheet helps in the final days.
Frequently Asked Questions
A current MIL7-specific pass rate was not verified in ASE's public issuer sources. Any exact percentage you find elsewhere should be treated cautiously unless it cites ASE directly.
There are 50 administered questions, made up of 40 scored questions and 10 unscored research questions. You have 60 minutes, and every question is multiple choice with one correct answer.
A/C System and Component Diagnosis, Service, and Repair is the largest at 40%, or 16 scored questions. Operating Systems and Related Controls Diagnosis and Repair is second at 25%, or 10 scored questions.
No. Certification also requires ASE-approved experience, either two years of full-time repair-technician work or an accepted part-time or training equivalent. You can test before meeting that requirement, but ASE must approve your experience record.
Certification is valid for five years. You renew by passing the corresponding MIL7R recertification test, which is separate from the initial exam and from ASE's refrigerant credential.